Jackson’s First Halloween


A week late in the recap but better late than never πŸ™‚

This Halloween Bry, Jax and I started the day off with a 4 mile run. I wore my orange sweat wicking long sleeved shirt and black running tights, Bry wore all black with his orange Tough Mudder headband and Jax wore his costume. We didn’t take him trick-or-treating this year though the neighbors who all came by with their kids to trick-or-treat were in love with Jax’s little costume. I’m not biased at all when I say he was stinkin’ adorable πŸ˜‰

Our little JACK-o-lantern πŸ™‚

I loved this outfit one because it used his name, two because Bry was a pumpkin for his first Halloween and three because it was warm and October in MD is chilly.

He loved it too, don’t let this picture fool you.

Bry and I dressed our part as farmers.

You know, with our harvest from this year, our little pumpkin πŸ™‚

One of the things I looked forward to most about parenthood was being able to experience and celebrate all these holidays with a family of my own: dressing up my kids, choosing the perfect meaningful and useful presents for them and seeing their faces light up when they got to open them Christmas morning, gathering around a table at Thanksgiving to dig into a feast while surrounded by those we love the most. This was the first holiday we got to spend with Jax (other than Labor Day) and it was worth the wait and just as fun as I ever imagined seeing his little face peeking out for his pumpkin hood. I can’t wait for years to come when he can walk and talk and really experience Halloween to the fullest (though I’m soaking up the ability to choose his costumes for him for now, when I can make them family themed). Now onward to Thanksgiving! I can’t wait! Bry’s favorite holiday. The boy likes food. We all do.

The other great thing about Halloween: when it’s over it’s acceptable (in my world) to start blaring Christmas music. And lucky for me my son seems to enjoy it just as much as I do! (or at least can’t vocalize his dislike quite yet ;))

One thought on “Jackson’s First Halloween

Leave a Reply

