At Home Workout DVDs


Lately the weather here has been horrendous.  It rained almost all of last week and this week it’s in the low 20’s and below with 20+ mph winds.  It was one thing to weather the weather, shall I say, when it was just me but as a SAHM I have Jackson at all times.  Bry gets ready for work at 4:30am when the moon is still in the sky and doesn’t get home from work until 6pm or later and it’s already dark by then.  Since running has been pretty much out of the question I’ve had to find other ways to work out, especially with our half marathon only 7 weeks away (holy cow!). Side note: I really need to figure out a way to run in the winter without freezing my child to death. There isn’t a gym here that has childcare nor would I feel comfortable putting him in one during flu season (especially since our insurance with Bry’s new job doesn’t kick in until March 1st).

Anyway, I’ve dusted off a lot of my old workout DVDs and some new to me ones that I’d never attempted before.  I have to say, I never knew a thin DVD could make me sweat or my muscles burn so very much.  My legs were sore for days after some of them, which running 10+ miles can’t even accomplish. Here’s a rundown of the ones I have in my collection that I highly recommend to anyone interested in a great workout that requires little more than a small empty space, a set of free weights and the desire to sweat.

Lindsay Brin’s Moms Into Fitness

This is a 4 disc set. The first 3 discs were 1st, 2nd and 3rd trimester yoga and cardio/toning DVDs that I did and loved throughout my pregnancy.  The fourth disc I just tried for the first time last week and it made. me. burn.  It’s called “Boot Camp 2” and is designed for postpartum moms or people who haven’t worked out in awhile. Even as a runner and someone who has worked out consistently for years, the DVD made me hurt. In a good way, of course. It managed to target all of my trouble areas without even realizing it.  For me that meant the fat on the back of my arm that Jackson has become fond of pinching with all his might (ow), my inner thighs and my upper back (think bra fat).

The cardio & toning sections are short and sweet but really make every minute count.  They’re broken up into 10 minute videos (3 cardio & toning and 3 cardio) that include 10 different exercises for a minute each for 10 minutes.  Long enough to work each muscle group but short enough to keep you interested and your heart rate up. There are also 3 other sections: warm-up, cool-down and core.  The core section has 6 different videos working various parts of your abdominals in numerous ways.

moms into fitness


Jillian Michael’s Yoga Meltdown

This single disc workout features two routines: level 1 and level 2.  I’ve done it off and on for about two years now and level 2 still kicks my arse.  Even though level 1 is “easier” it’s a wonderful workout.  Jillian’s created compound flow yoga moves to create a workout that is constantly working your entire body and keeping your heart rate up from start to finish. I love having this DVD in my rotation and use it 1-3 times a week.  Perfect for active rest days and requires nothing but your own body.

yoga


Jillian Michael’s 30 Day Shred

Probably the most famous of the DVDs on this list (and in general), Jillian’s 30 Day Shred offers a three level workout DVD that is created to blast fat, tone muscle and get you sculpted in just 30 days.  While the DVD is intended to be done every day for 30 days I’ve never done it for a month straight (and would never use this workout on back to back days).  Like all strength training routines, you need to rest your body and it is highly recommended that you rest each body part at least one day before working it again (abs included).

51QlqI3yaOL._SL500_AA300_


Biggest Loser Powersculpt

My first DVD ever and one that I still find perfect for a quick sweat session.  There are three levels to this DVD and you’re able to customize your workout to your ability, time limit, etc.  The DVD features real Biggest Loser contestants which I feel adds an element to the workout.  Whenever I feel like I am about to faceplant on my yoga mat I look at these real people who have truly struggled to get to where they are, never given up and are still up there kicking butt and it makes me dig a little deeper. It’s much more motivational, for me, than the fit models featured in most other DVDs. There’s a warm-up, cooldown and three workout sessions that can be done on their own or in any combination. Level 1 is the easiest and is 20 minutes long then level 2 is of medium difficulty and is 10 minutes long. Level 3 is supposed to be the hardest level and is also 10 minutes in length.

powersc

One thought on “At Home Workout DVDs

  1. I love me some Jillian DVDs, although I have not tried her yoga one. I definitely think maybe I should look into that Lindsay Brin one now though? *winks* I think I have seen it at Target!

Leave a Reply

