Happy Half Birthday Jackson Wyatt!


Half a year. 6 months. 184 days.

I can’t believe how fast time has flown by.  So much has changed in the past 6 months.  I constantly feel like I just brought Jackson home from the hospital and at the same time, as if I’ve known him all my life.  I can’t remember what life was like before him or how I filled my days.  I feel like he’s still that 7lb 6.2 oz baby boy we first gave birth to and at the same time I wonder how in the world he’s almost 19lbs and working out my biceps daily.  I watch him grow every day but it’s not until I see pictures of those first few months that it truly hits me just how much he’s grown and changed.  He’s no longer the lethargic, constantly sleeping and eating little newborn we first brought home but this adorable bright-eyed little boy full of curiosity and a gigantic personality.  I remember how much I loved him in the months he grew inside me, how much my heart swelled as I first held him in my arms but there aren’t words to describe how incredible that love is and how it’s grown exponentially ever since those first lines appeared on a pregnancy test.

Jackson’s still a babbling machine.  He especially likes to talk when you’re not paying attention to him.  At night he likes to hold Geoffrey in front of his face and tell him all about his day.  He has 2 favorite animals that go around with him everywhere (along with Sofie his teether).  Ellie is an elephant head blanket that he finds really fun to place over his head.  Don’t worry, we always make sure he can breathe.  Geoffrey is a stuffed giraffe that he’s had from the beginning and loves to hold hands with.  He often has both arms holding on tightly to both of his friends whenever they’re nearby.

IMG_4822

He’s still consuming both Nutramigen and breastmilk.  I thought I’d stop at 6 months because of all the problems I’ve had with supply but neither the girls or Jax are quite ready yet.  Every time I try to wean my boobs get extremely full and start throbbing. And I just think “Oh NOW you want to start producing milk?!” I especially thought this Sunday night when daddy and I went on a babyless date night to the movies.  Jax still gets comfort from nursing as well and as he grows and gets more crazy and non-stop, I truly value those moments we can just cuddle while he’s nursing.  I am returning our hospital grade breastpump though so I’m sure my supply will decrease just from stopping pumping. I’m OK with that. It was more stressful than it was worth.

IMG_4837

Additionally Jax is eating solids.  He’s had sweet potatoes, carrots, butternut squash and peas so far.  He loves peas with carrots and sweet potatoes in a close second (especially mixed).  He’s going to try zucchini, green beans and broccoli later this week. Yum!

He’s sleeping in his crib with a sleep sack at night.  During the day he naps in his pack n’ play.  The past week or so he’s been boycotting longer naps and taking 3 half hour naps a day.  At night he sleeps from 6:30/7pm until 7am with 2 wake ups (11pm and 3am) Sometimes he sleeps through one or the other of them (last night, for example he woke up at 11am and slept through the night until 6 this morning). He’s adopted some incredibly awkward sleeping positions as well…

IMG_4815

He is still infatuated with his activity mat. One of the best toys he’s gotten and has definitely got his money’s worth out of.  He enjoys his exersaucer as well.  Grandma got him a toy piano for Christmas he’s really taken to this week.  He’s found new ways to play it by scooting his entire body across the keys.  He’s a genius. He also got a water toy from Grandma that has water in it and some floating moon and stars.  He’s started to actually see the shapes inside and press the water to play with it instead of just trying to eat the thing. His other favorite toys include fabric blocks (both the scrunchy ones with tissue inside and the rattle ones), rings, Sofie the teether and scraping the mattress with his nails (apparently he likes the sound?).  He’s still in love with running with us and passes out within the first 5 minutes.

IMG_4840

I’ve always known I wanted to be a mommy. I’ve always known I’d love being one. But I could never have ever imagine just how much I’d love it and just how all consuming a mother’s love truly is.

Leave a Reply

