Meals & Moves Monday


I get asked quite a bit how many calories I consume and what a “normal” day of eating looks like for me.  I answer honestly. I have NO idea. I used to count calories when I was first trying to become healthier but there became a point where the calorie counts no longer helped me know where I stood nutritionally, but became a point of obsession.  I had to make all my percentages add up to certain amounts to feel good about a day.  Or I’d feel my counts were “too low”, eat something to bring them up and end up binging.  I found there became a point where not knowing, but rather listening to my body, was better for me.  Calorie counting was great in the beginning! It was a really useful tool to help me learn portion sizes and what I was really consuming.  It was eye opening. But after awhile it becomes second nature and you can pretty easily eyeball portion sizes and estimate calorie counts in your head.

The other thing for me is that every day is vastly different from the last.  Usually 6/7 days I eat every meal in with our 1 date night out a week.  However, sometimes there are weeks like this past one where we go on a date night Friday after Bry gets off from work (this week was sushi, YUM!) and then we have a long 10 miler Saturday that has one or the other of us craving something in particular.  This week it was meatloaf for Bry and we ended up eating out again Saturday for lunch.  It’s not a usual occurrence, but it happens.  The days where my food is from somewhere other than a kitchen, naturally, I consume more calories.  Face it: restaurants add a lot to their food to make it delicious and addicting.  I try to choose healthier options but if it comes between something that sounds delicious or something that’s healthy I’ll more often than not choose the yummy option 🙂

My point is, I really have no idea what a “normal” day looks like because it varies so much from day to day depending on where I am, what I’m doing and how much I’ve exercised.  But to kind of give a general idea of what one day might look like for me, I kept a food and fitness account today.

My meals and moves of Monday:

Breakfast:

Blueberry Oats (1/4c old fashioned oats, 1c unsweetened vanilla almond milk, 1 handful (about 1/8c) chopped walnuts, 1/2 scoop Gold Standard vanilla ice cream whey protein, 1 tsp chia seeds, 1 tsp ground cinnamon)

IMG_20130303_064033
Workout:

6 mile run with Jax and Bry. We finished in 1 hour and 4 minutes (10:39 average pace)
Snack:

Juice! Finally convinced my mom to invest in a juicer and I’m in love with it. Maybe she’ll gift to to me 🙂 (This one contained: 1/2 a cucumber, 4 celery sticks, handful of kale, 1 apple and a handful of baby carrots). Delicious!

IMG_20130303_094654Jackson approved

Also some ranch Wheat Thins and a string cheese

IMG_20130303_102355

Lunch:

Beef chili and cornbread with butter. Mmmmm yummy (ignore the horrible pic)

IMG_20130304_154402

Dinner:

Tilapia, mixed vegetables with teryaki sauce and brown rice

IMG_20130303_171551
Dessert:

2 chocolate chip cookies and some pretzels (all unpictured as they were scarfed down)

And a sleepy baby for good measure 🙂

IMG_20130305_083450

Leave a Reply

