2014 Goals


Life has been a bit insane lately, for lack of a better term. We’ve literally been flying by the seat of our pants with so many life transitions happening at once. I promise I’ll update more about everything later, including catching up with baby updates (we’re halfway through week 24 already!! Insane!) But in the meantime I wanted to write down some goals for this year.

____________________________________________________________________

2014 is a huge year for us. It’s the year we’ll officially become a family of 4, the year we meet our littlest family member and the year Jackson becomes a big brother. It’s also the year Bryan more officially gets into his life career, the year we watch our oldest baby turn 2, and another year to learn & grow as a family. I’m so excited for everything this year has to offer!

Goals:

1. Have a healthy, happy baby in April. Meaning not only do I need to severely cut back on the desserts (6 cookies in a sitting and 5 donuts is NOT healthy for anyone, even if you’re eating for 2…especially if you’re eating for 2!). I want to listen to my body. After going into preterm labor right before Christmas I haven’t run since. It isn’t worth the risk of Andrew’s health. I do want to get back into the gym even if it’s for treadmill walks, modified spin & my favorite, BodyPump! I also want to start more home workouts by continuing prenatal yoga and adding in some at home prenatal strength circuits & cardio DVDs. I want to try to sweat more but remember that I don’t have to push myself as hard as I used to, growing a human is work enough! And to be proud of even the little accomplishments, like just stretching it out for 20 minutes even if it doesn’t give me the same accomplished feeling as running 5 sub-10 minute miles. Being a mom, growing a baby with my body, that’s superhuman enough 😉 And again, I want to give birth in APRIL, not a day sooner thankyouverymuch little boy.

20131223_150150

2. Budget! & stick to it. We’re very good about saving money. It helps when you don’t have much to spend 😉 Our biggest expense is food and man do we spend way too much on it.  There are aspects of our food budget that I want to focus on keeping: spending money on wholesome, sometimes organic, healthy, namely from the earth foods. I feel good about spending a bit more on foods I know are good for my body & my family. But we also spend far too much money on eating out. Between busy schedules & pregnancy cravings it’s gotten insane lately. Not only do I want to reign in the eating out to cut back on the unnecessary expense & stop wasting that wholesome food we spend money on at Trader Joe’s each week,  but I want to cut back on the unnecessary preservatives, chemicals & grossness that goes along with it. Right before I got pregnant with Andrew we were doing amazing! We’d spent 2 months without eating out even once. We saved a lot of money & felt extremely healthy & good in our own bodies. I’d like to get back to that, especially as a career change means a big cut in pay.

3. Disconnect More. The more I progress in pregnancy & have been forced to slow down, the more I realize I was missing out on by constantly trying to “do it all”. It doesn’t always matter if the dishes are clean, the floor is swept or I even brushed my hair that day. Jackson doesn’t care. He does care that I spend some dedicated time every single day with the computer & cell phone put away and all my focus just on him. Disconnecting makes me appreciate even more how fast he’s growing, how smart he is and how blessed I am to be his mama. It makes me tear up thinking about how big my little boy is getting and how fast it’s all flying by. In 15, 20, 50 years from now it won’t matter how many miles I ran, what we ate for dinner or whether I checked my email. The only thing that’ll matter are the memories I made with my family and the bond we deepened.

1016860_10201328558595664_680107553_n

4. Run another Half. We deferred our half marathon entry for the Baltimore Half last year for October 2014 since I was dying of insane morning sickness and in no shape to train or run 13.1 this past Oct. My goal is to start training again once Andrew gets here, to listen to my body during it but to run my second half with my handsome husband. I want to finish strong, hopefully faster than our 1st half, and hug my 2 beautiful boys at the finish line. Running and training with Jackson after he was born was such a wonderful thing for me I really look forward to doing it again this year. It’s great physically & mentally and I truly believe it helped me never get postpartum depression.

946313_10200140149646183_853232327_n

Nothing mindblowing or life altering but those are my goals for the coming year. I hope to be happy & healthy and make the most  of each and every day.

Leave a Reply

