Food & Fitness Tuesday


It’s been a long time since I’ve posted my eats. I’ve gotten a few questions about how and what I eat while pregnant. The truth is, I don’t follow any plan. I listen to my body and eat when I’m hungry (and sometimes when I’m not–oops) and try to have a healthy mix of indulging in my cravings and feeding the baby nutritious food. Sometimes I eat more sweets than vegetables but that’s life.

Breakfast: Blueberry protein waffle with chia seeds topped with defrosted blueberries, syrup & Earth Balance butter

waffle50 minutes of What to Expect When You’re Expecting workout DVD: 30 minutes of cardio + 10 minutes thighs & buns + 10 minutes core. Hard work with 2 sidekicks 🙂

20140110_085142Post-workout snack: Blueberry greek yogurt

20140110_094750Lunch: Leftover sweet potato & black bean chili topped with avocado, a leftover turkey tenderloin & a handful of multigrain Tostitos

20140110_105903Afternoon Snacks: Pineapple, a TJ’s chocolate fiber bar, hot cocoa w/ whipped cream + chocolate chips and a slice of egg white vegetable casserole topped with feta & salsa (we ate lunch at 11am so there were lots of afternoon snacks between lunch and dinner at 5)

20140110_14475820140110_15034220140110_145344Dinner: Sushi (seaweed salad, 5/8 pieces of a Boston roll (cooked shrimp, avocado, green onion, cucumber) and 2/8 pieces of a caterpillar roll (cooked eel, avocado, cucumber)—I felt unusually & uncomfortably full really fast. I think it’s from how big and how high Andrew/the belly lie (when I sit it’s almost right under my bra line).

20140110_16503820140110_165025Dessert: A banana topped w/ TJ’s natural PB and a cup of fat free milk (I’ve been having a banana before bed every night this week to prevent leg cramps from a potassium deficit–it’s working!)

20140110_173432

& at least 4 of these bad boys + 1(or more) overnight) I cannot get enough water these days. Hopefully it helps my milk supply & I have no problems in that department this time around! Wishful thinking. At the very least it’s good for me, baby & keeping away Braxton Hicks.

20140110_164113

Everyday my meals & eats are different. Sometimes I have larger meals, sometimes smaller. Sometimes more snacks, sometimes less. Sometimes less vegetables, sometimes more sweets. In general I try to eat a good balance for myself & for my growing babe.

Leave a Reply

