Half Marathon Training


I’m smack dab in the middle of training for my second half marathon. My first I ran with my husband when Jackson was 7 months old. We began training at 3 weeks post partum and did almost all our training runs together (save for a 2 week long business trip). We began our first half together and finished hand in hand. I loved every minute of it and got the racing itch which led us to registering for HM #2. We were supposed to run it last October but were wonderfully blessed with a growing Andrew as soon as we started TTC#2. By October I was still in the trenches of debilitating morning sickness and exhaustion and we ended up deferring our race to this October. Unfortunately Bry began training for work (firefighting) and decided to forgo the race to train in his career instead. As disappointed as I am to not race with him again, I’m also embracing this opportunity to push myself and see what I’m made of. Mentally I know it’ll definitely be challenging.

With brys work and training schedule I’ve had to do most of my training runs solo with the double BOB. Mix that with it being the middle of a hot, humid summer and I’m definitely getting challenged. Right now I’ve found a good plan. I run 2 short runs during the week with the double BOB that range between 3-4 miles right now and I run my long runs on the weekend solo while Bry watches the boys. I’ve run half my long runs with the double BOB though and literally blew myself away when I ran 7 miles on Friday with both boys without taking a single walking break. I was quite proud of myself. I have a few goals in mind for the half but my biggest is to just start and complete it despite doing it by myself. I’ve also been consistently taking one body pump class a week at my gym and love it! I wish I could go twice a week but childcare schedules won’t allow it.

Here’s what last weeks training looked like:

Monday: REST

Tuesday: 3.5mi run with double BOB @ 9:38/pace + 1mi walk

Wednesday: 3mi run with double BOB @ 9:00/pace + 2mi walk

Thursday: 60min body pump class

Friday: 7mi run with double BOB @ 9:26/pace + 1.5mi walk

Saturday: 60min hike with Andrew in the ergo

Sunday: REST

image

One thought on “Half Marathon Training

Leave a Reply

