Three Weeks Out


It’s 5:45am and I’m sitting here typing away in complete silence. Complete. Silence. Let that soak in.

I’ve come to realize that especially on long run days, having extra solo time in the morning > sleeping “in”. It’s more relaxing to be able to get ready and eat, to even put the dishes away without having to tend to two tiny people’s every need before I even have a chance to pee.

All three guys are sleeping away while I sit here eating a PB & banana sandwich and alternating between cups of extra strong coffee and water. Fueling for my 2nd to last long run of this training cycle. It seems surreal. At the same time though I feel prepared and confident in my training. I’m, dare I say, excited, about seeing it through and seeing just what I can accomplish.

20140927_054207
For the next 21 days here are my goals:

1. No alcohol. Lately with 2+ wake ups a night from Drew and non-coordinating naps (if naps at all) during the day, plus a teething infant and a tantruming toddler I’ve taken to a glass of vino almost nightly. There’s nothing wrong with a little indulgence and some even say a glass of wine in good for the patience, soul, heart. But I know that my running feels much more sluggish with that glass of red than without. So for the next 3 weeks I’m going to try to forget it’s pumpkin beer season, stop envisioning a tall glass of Blue Moon and spend more quality time with my water bottle.

2. Water. I need more of it. I’ve been drinking about 4c a day. Yup. In an entire day. Even on days I run 5 miles. Even though I’m still nursing. I need to stop hydrating with coffee and adult libations and go back to the watering hole. I can definitely feel how thirst I am on runs and it’s not something I want to hinder race day.

3. Limit desserts to weekends. I am all about the sweets. All the time. But it goes with the other 2 that killing an entire container of Oreos in two nights isn’t great for my running (but it’s Halloween Oreo season and I’m obsessed with them). Ordinarily, the cookies and ice cream and apple crisp and the Southern Butter Pecan gelato sitting in our freezer would win out but I’ve put a lot of work into my training and I want to give myself the best chance at performing my best.

4. Yoga. I really really really need to focus on stretching more. My hips are horribly tight and after forgetting to stretch all together after Wednesday 5 miler I can feel how tight my IT-Bands are and in turn, my knees are starting to ache. Not exactly what I want to be experiencing 3 weeks out from race day. So stretching is a must.

5. Enjoy it. My last 2 runs have felt forced. I had no mojo and couldn’t get out the door until after naptime. Yesterday’s run was so undesired I even showered before throwing on one of my husband’s old hats over my still wet hair and just doing it. I always feel better afterward but I’ve just felt blah about the idea of running lately. I looked back at training for my 1st half and realized I felt the same way for it. I think it’s just pure exhaustion from twice nightly wakeups that is just dragging me down.

6. Remember why I run. I’m not running to prove anything to anyone but myself. I want to prove to myself that I can do this even if I’m running it alone (which is something I never would have been able to do in the past). To prove I can accomplish something if I set my mind to it. That even though my main role, and my happiest is as Mama, I can still have some of my old identity. That training with two kids in a double jogging stroller for 90% of my runs won’t stop me, but rather make me stronger. To be a healthy example for my kids and to do something that one day, when they’re old enough, they’ll hopefully be proud of me for. To not give up and to enjoy this amazing ability I have, to be able to run, to enjoy my sport.

Leave a Reply

