Oatmeal Chocolate Chip (Lactation) Cookies


Before I had Drew I heard a lot about magical cookies that would help boost milk production for nursing moms. A cookie that you claim you were devouring by the dozen in the name of feeding your baby? Sign me up! I turned to my best friend, Google, for some recipes but none were quite what I was looking for. For me cookies need 3 things.

1. Chocolate.
2. Sugar.
3. More chocolate.

A lot of the recipes I found were chocolate free or healthy. I’m all for healthy eating and a balanced lifestyle but cookies are one thing you just don’t mess with. So I decided to throw caution to the wind and try to create my own. Let me just toot my own horn here and say these may very well be the best cookies I’ve ever created. Holy hell are they good. Even hubby agrees. And for those who aren’t feeding small humans with your tatas, don’t fret! You can eat them too. By the dozen if you desire. Brewer’s Yeast is the main ingredient that helps promote lacation (as does flax seed and oats), however it’s also found in beer and packs in a surprisingly punch of 8g protein per tbsp. So eat up!

20140916_154551

Oatmeal Chocoalte Chip (Lactation) Cookies
For all those with taste buds and know what’s good

Makes about 3 dozen

Ingredients:

2 tbsp flaxseed meal
4 tbsp water
1c Earth Balance (or any butter), softened
1c white sugar
1c brown sugar
2 eggs
1 tsp vanilla extract
2c all purpose flour
3tsp baking powder
1 tsp baking soda
1 tsp salt
2-6tbsp Brewer’s Yeast (the more you add the more the effect on your milk supply. I use 4tbsp and you can’t taste it but still get the boost ifyaknowwhatImean)
3c old fashioned oats
1c chocolate chips (or half the bag, or the whole bag if you’re feeling adventurous)

Directions:

1. Mix together flaxseed and water. Set aside.
2. Preheat oven to 350 if using nonstick cookie sheets and 375 for regular.
3. Cream together butter, white and brown sugars.
4. Add eggs and mix.
5. Add flaxseed mix and vanilla.
6. In separate bowl combine flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt, brewer’s yeast and oats.
7. Add flour mix to butter mixture 1/2c at a time and mix.
8. Once completely mixed, add in chocolate chips. Sometimes I’ll add shredded coconut or chopped walnuts too. Whatever your heart desires.
9. Make into rounded spoonfuls and place on cookie sheet. The bigger the cookie the better. Then you can say I’ve “only” had 2 cookies when they’re really the equivalent of 12 😉
10. Bake for 10-15 minutes, depending on your oven and desired type of cookie (chewy vs. crunchy).
11. Enjoy!

Just to make sure it was completely safe, my selfless husband was the guinea pig and helped me polish off a batch over the weekend. Verdict: he didn’t start shooting milk everywhere but he did enjoy every morsel. When I opened the cookie jar this morning to find it empty, I kicked myself for letting him in on the secret that these cookies weren’t just for nursing mamas. So fair warning mamas: you can share these if you want (but you don’t have to!)

Leave a Reply

