Currently


20141024_061551I’m on an oatmeal kick. Between cold weather and a string of illnesses (were on round 3 and 4 right now which is one of the hardest because I’ve been without a voice for six days now. I’ll let that sink in. Six days. No voice. With a toddler.) I mix 1/4c trader Joes old fashioned oats with about 3/4c water on the stove top. As it begins to simmer I add in 1/8c chopped walnuts, 1/2 scoop vanilla protein powder, 1/4tsp ground cinnamon, 1/2tsp chia seeds, 1/2 a small apple- chopped, 1/2 banana- sliced. Once it’s done I add a big scoop of crunchy pb and enjoy with extra strong coffee.

untitled

I’ve been really into reading again lately. Thanks to Oyster I blew through two books in the span of 3 days. They were both really good. The Art of Racing in the Rain which I highly recommend if you love dogs and Brain on Fire which was a fantastic non fiction. If you’re interested in trying Oyster I recommend signing up for the trial online as you get an entire month for free versus a week if you register through the app, like I did. Womp womp. (disclaimer: I’m in no way affiliated with Oyster Books, I just really like the app).

 20141216_09462520141216_09463420141216_094650

…Freaking out about the fact that my 8 month old wants to stand all.the.time. Yesterday he started screaming during naptime. I went into our room to find him standing in his pack n play playing with everything on my nightstand. He got stuck and couldn’t figure out how to get down. Or out. He pulls up on everything: big brother, our legs, chairs, the toy shelves, Legos and train sets and even a toy dump truck that landed him face first into it’s bed and left a wicked bruise on his cheek. Poor kid.

Untitled3

…apprehensively excited about the fact that I was selected from the lottery for the Cherry Blossom 10 Miler in April. I’m excited to have a race in mind for 2015 and the timing is great but I’m also feeling less than motivated to get my arse to the gym to get in runs and with the weather the way it has been (read: freezing cold and windy) I can’t get out on the trails with both kids. Maybe it’s a good thing that I now have a race to motivate me, eh?

20141213_123200

…loving kale salads. On a whim I ordered one from a restaurant a few weekends ago and haven’t been able to get it out of my mind since. I finally recreated it at home and it is everything. So darn good. I mix prewashed and cut organic kale from Trader Joe’s with dried cranberries, sliced tomatoes, grated carrot, feta cheese, creamy dressing and walnuts. Try it.

20141214_091456 20141214_091345 20141214_091342

…attempting baby led weaning! Andrew is so busy that spoon feeding is nearly impossible. I’ve begun attempting BLW with pears and bananas and the kid LOVES it. It’s messy but fun!

20141209_093311

…loving the sibling bond even when they’re still so young. They melt me.

Leave a Reply

