Cherry Blossom 10 Miler: Training Update


With a little under 5 weeks to go until race day I’m feeling rather under prepared. Winter brought with it a slew of reasons to not train. The biggest one was the fact that we were bombarded with illnesses. The kids seemed to get a new cold every week. Just as one was on it’s way out, a new one would hit. With them sick, the gym childcare wasn’t an option and with the temperatures in the low single digits, outside runs with the double BOB weren’t an option either. Top it all off with Winter being prime time for Bry’s job (he’s been working crazy overtime, like 25+ hours of just overtime in the past 2 weeks), I’ve majorly fallen off the fitness wagon.

For awhile there I was getting one run in a week. That’s it. I wasn’t too worried because somehow I had it in my mind that there was an option to defer and I figured I’d make up my mind closer to April. Well, 5 weeks out and I finally got around to reading about the rules on when and how to defer last weekend. Lo and behold, you can’t. I started hyperventilating a little bit and then quickly realized I need to kick my own @$$ and just get back out there. 5 weeks really isn’t that short of a time considering I haven’t been completely sedentary (just very very close).

For most of January I was averaging 3 runs a week with the longest being 6 miles and most being 4 milers. Come February, I totaled 5 runs. For the entire month. Between constant illnesses and a pelvic infection, running and exercise just fell by the wayside. My longest run was a 5miler plus two 4 milers and two 2 milers. Read: not much.

Last week I buckled down and with two relatively healthy kids I got back out there. Monday I covered 4 treadmill miles plus a quarter mile warm up and a quarter mile cool-down for 4.5 total miles. I felt really bad this day from antibiotics so I kept it short and slow. Tuesday I spent 3 hours in Ikea pushing around 734lbs of unassembled furniture in the world’s hardest to turn cart while carrying Andrew in the Ergo and attempting to keep Jackson from breaking every glass object we passed. Then we spent 3 hours that evening assembling everything. It was exhausting but well worth it. Wednesday I got in my long run for the week: 6 miles + 1/2 mi warm up and cool-down. I felt solid the entire time and finished with a 9:00 pace. Thursday we were dumped with snow which happened to be my favorite running weather. When Bry got home from work I strapped on my yaktrax and covered 3.5 gorgeous snowy miles at a 9:33 pace. The weekend was spent cleaning and running errands but no real fitness.

20150224_105830

So that’s where I am now. Trying desperately to smartly train and avoid injury. Come April 12th my first goal is to just make it to the starting line. Here goes nothing!

2 thoughts on “Cherry Blossom 10 Miler: Training Update

  1. I just stumbled upon your website looking for stitch fix reviews and decided to read your latest entries. It was so weird when you were talking about getting prepared for the cherry blossom run on April 12th because I’m preparing for the Pear Blossom run on April 11th! Anyway, I’m not as prepared as I should be either. It’s just been one thing after another. But anyway, good luck!

Leave a Reply

