Last Week’s Workouts (+ Vegan Funfetti Cupcakes!)


Between 2 trips to the ER and a chest infection my week was very light on the workout front. Some is better than none! And I know that taking a break is more beneficial to my body recovering then trying to push through.

IMG_20150321_093600

Saturday: 9mi run! (8:20pace) <– 30 degree run. It was absolutely frigid & I kicked myself the entire time for not bringing gloves. My hands were numb, swollen and red the entire time. Ouch!

Sunday: OFF

Monday: Walk (trip to ER for corneal scratch)

Tuesday: 20m ab + booty barre workout

Wednesday: 4mi treadmill  run + 3/4mi warm up and cooldown (9:38 pace) <— so so sick

Thursday: Walk (ER allergic reaction)

Friday: Rest or at home workout (like yoga or barre)

Now to what you really want…CUPCAKES!

Vegan Funfetti Cupcakes

9

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup vegan butter (I use Earth Balance)
  • 1c organic cane sugar
  • 2tbsp ground flax mixed into 6tbsp water
  • 1 tablespoon vanilla extract
  • 1 1/2 cups all purpose flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/3 cup nondairy milk (I used unsweetened soy milk)
  • 1/3 cup rainbow sprinkles

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.
  2. Cream the butter and sugar until fluffy
  3. Add flax egg and vanilla and beat until combined
  4. Combine dry ingredients in a separate bowl
  5. Add half of the dry ingredients, mixing until just combined
  6. Add the milk
  7. Once mixed, add remaining dry ingredients
  8. Fold in sprinkles
  9. Pour into cupcake tins and fill 2/3 of the way full
  10. Bake for 18-20 minutes or until cooked through (test with a toothpick)
  11. Let cool completely before frosting

I recommend topping with a vegan buttercream but I have yet to be able to create one that doesn’t melt on me immediately. The frosting on the cupcakes above I made using whipped coconut cream but neither Bry nor I liked the taste at all. This one looks good though.

Leave a Reply

