{Dairy-free} Banana Bread


This morning I started making a pot of Mom Elixir (aka coffee) and noticed 3 sad bananas fallen by the wayside of our fruit bowl. At first I thought about tossing them into the trash. Then I thought: banana bread!

The boys are currently in love with muffins for breakfast so the thought of banana bread seemed like a great idea for something they’d actually consume. I usually prefer nuts in my baked goods. I’m a huge fan of a walnut filled banana bread but our pantry is in a sad state of emptiness right now. Also, one of our good friends is an incredible cook and always bringing us yummy meals she somehow finds time to whip up between owning and running her own business and being super mom. I wanted to bring some banana bread to them on this cloudy day and since her son has a severe dairy allergy (that nuts occasionally mimic), I set out to make a dairy free banana bread that omitted the nuts. I wasn’t sure how it’d turn out as I tossed random things into the mixing bowl but the result was quickly inhaled by both picky toddlers and I was barely able to wrap up half the loaf to deliver to our friends before grabby hands found their way to it.

This recipe can easily be made vegan too by substituting the egg for a flax egg (1 tbsp ground flax + 3 tbsp water, let sit for a couple of minutes)!

{Dairy-free} Banana Bread

IMG_20151105_064825

Ingredients:

  • 1 egg, whisked
  • 3 brown bananas, mashed
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/3c earth balance, melted (or other vegan butter)
  • 2-3tbsp applesauce (or use 1/2c melted butter. I ran out so I added the applesauce but the taste and added moisture were fantastic!)
  • 1c all purpose flour
  • 1/2c whole wheat flour
  • 1/4c sugar
  • 1/4c brown sugar

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees
  2. Mix all ingredients in a medium mixing bowl until blended (I leave the bananas a little clumpy still)
  3. Coat a bread loaf pan with olive oil or non-stick cooking spray
  4. Pour in batter and spread until even
  5. Bake 45 minutes or until cooked through
  6. Remove from oven and let sit for 10-15 minutes to cool
  7. Top with butter and devour!
One thought on “{Dairy-free} Banana Bread

Leave a Reply

